Robot hand
Shadow Dexterous Hand
A tendon-driven research hand with 20 actuated DoF and four additional coupled movements. Its motors and control electronics occupy an integrated forearm assembly.
Records last verified Oct 13, 2026 · Send a correction
Specifications
— means unknown or not disclosed. Notes preserve variant and measurement conditions.
| Specification | Value, confidence & sources |
|---|---|
| Fingers | 5Official — stated by the manufacturer or organizer |
| Degrees of freedom | 24 DoFOfficial — stated by the manufacturer or organizer Conditions & notes24 joints/movements, including coupled finger joints and wrist motion; not 24 independent actuators. |
| Actuated degrees of freedom | 20 DoFOfficial — stated by the manufacturer or organizer Conditions & notesIncludes wrist actuators. |
| Weight | 4.3 kgOfficial — stated by the manufacturer or organizer Conditions & notesEntire hand and forearm assembly; not isolated hand mass. |
| Maximum grip force | — |
| Fingertip force | — |
| Payload | 5 kgOfficial — stated by the manufacturer or organizer Conditions & notesUp to 5 kg in a power grasp in the February 2021 technical specification; no newer payload rating is stated in the current series table. |
| Tactile sensing | Shadow Tactile Fingertips (STF): two fitted as standard, up to five supportedOfficial — stated by the manufacturer or organizer Conditions & notesCurrent series table specifies STF configuration; the older February 2021 datasheet instead describes PST sensors as standard. |
| Actuation | Electric DC motors driving tendonsOfficial — stated by the manufacturer or organizer |
| Interface | EtherCAT; ROS integrationOfficial — stated by the manufacturer or organizer |
Published price
Price
— Price not disclosed in the checked sources.
Used in
Officially documented robot associations; notes identify the configuration and whether the component is optional.
No official association with a robot in this catalog was established in the checked sources.
More robot hands
Evidence
Sources
- [s1] Shadow Dexterous Hand series — model comparison ↗
Shadow Robot Company · official · accessed Oct 13, 2026
- [s2] Shadow Dexterous Hand technical specification (February 2021 release) ↗
Shadow Robot Company · official · published Feb 2021 · accessed Oct 13, 2026